How to pass all your iCloud photos to your PC or laptop

Apple continues, as for years, offering 5 GB of free storage on iCloud, its cloud platform to also synchronize reminders, contacts and others, store our photographs on Apple products. If we use Photo sync, our content will be uploaded to the cloud automatically, with the main purpose of saving space of our internal storage.

As in any other cloud platform, we can access these photographs at any time, as well as download them to our laptop or PC. It is therefore appropriate to comment on how to carry out this process, both from the cloud and from the iCloud PC program itself.

Downloading our iCloud photos

The first way to download our photos from iCloud is to do it from your own page. Just visit iCloud.com to access all our photographs. Once we are here, we select those we want to download.

Once this selection is made, click on the cloud icon with a download icon, thus being able to download the files in original quality or in a ‘better compatibility’ format (the original file may undergo changes here). This is the first method to download our photographs on PC although we can do it without resorting to the Apple page.

For the second method, we have to download iCloud for Windows and install it on our PC. It is a 155-megabyte program that can be downloaded for free. Downloaded and executed the program, we will see the photo section, with its corresponding ‘options’ icon on the right side of it. In this menu of options, we will see the options to download the photographs on our PC, even in Apple’s high efficiency files (HEIC).

Once configured, we will see the direct access to Photos in iCloud next to the hard drives, being able to download and upload photos from our PC, without having to access the application or the website. It goes without saying that from maOS we can manage our photos from the application of ‘Photos’, incorporated into the operating system itself.

Dropbox has become an essential tool in the daily lives of many users and, above all, of many professionals. It is the place to save files, create files in collaboration with others and share all kinds of materials between teams and even among workers from different companies.

For that reason, users who use this platform in their daily professional life have been demanding over time improvements in the way in which files are shared and Dropbox listened to them taking a remarkable step a few years ago: the introduction of passwords .

Password protection (with nuances)

The first thing to keep in mind when we talk about protecting content uploaded to Dropbox by password is that perhaps it is not exactly what we can think a priori. First of all, you have to be aware that it is an exclusive feature of Dropbox Business. Therefore, it is only for professional users.

On the other hand, far from being a requested password when accessing a directory, this credential only applies to the links we provide to third parties when sharing both a folder and a file. Once someone has entered the password to access the content that the protected link carries, they will always have permission to access (another matter is that the linked content is deleted or the location is changed).

Protecting a folder (or a file) with a password in Dropbox

Being aware of the characteristics and requirements that Dropbox establishes when it comes to password protection of a link to a folder or file, we will begin the process of creating a protection credential.

First, finding the session initiated in our Dropbox account, we will go to the Files section and in it we will place on top of the file or folder that we want to share the cursor so that the Share button appears and click on it.

After that, a window will open in which we must select the Create link option, which we will find in the lower right. When it has been created, the next step will be to click on Link Settings.

Once on the page that will allow us to configure the link to share, in the first section called Who has access, we will click on the selected option and in the drop-down menu that will open we will select People with password to enter the protection key.

Once the option that allows us to protect the password link is selected so that the display of the folder or the file is only possible in this way, we will enter the chosen password and click on the Save button to set our choice.

admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *